P1000128
P1000128

Ivoiry Coast Ivoiry Coast Ivoiry Coast Ivoiry Coast Ivoiry Coast

Uniwax

Since it was founded in 1968, Uniwax has been the West African leader in wax printing. Its products, sold under the Uniwax and Woodin brands, are exported to more than ten countries in West and Central Africa. Uniwax uses different processes to produce its product range. The fabrics are coated in wax and then dyed using a specific process that guarantees a very high colour fastness. From the engraving of copper cylinders to dye baths, more than 20 steps are required to produce a print!

Uniwax has been the long-standing partner of Panafrica since 2015. Every season, we go to Abidjan to select the most beautiful prints for our collections. We are fortunate to work directly with Uniwax, which gives us great flexibility and the chance to customise the selected prints in order to provide unique collections.

P1000070

legende de la photo

Useful info…

The wax market in Africa is today totally deregulated by the importation of Chinese wax, which is of lower quality and 2-3 times cheaper than wax fabric produced in Africa (Chinese wax costs on average 6,000 CFA francs. A wax printed in the Ivory Coast is sold for 18,000 CFA francs). Whether in the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana or the Ivory Coast, many factories have closed down, unable to withstand this competition.

Our choice of working with Uniwax allows us to support local production of a high-quality authentic fabric.

P1000108
P1000108

Ghana Ghana Ghana Ghana Ghana

L'atelier d'Esther

We met Esther and her team in 2019 and fell under the spell of this great talented and energetic lady. It’s in her small workshop north of Accra (capital of Ghana) that Esther, her daughter and their 4 employees create original prints and continue a well-known craft in Ghana: artisanal Batik printing. Every season we develop new prints for our collections together with them.

Atelier Batik
Atelier Batik

Burkina Faso Burkina Faso Burkina Faso Burkina Faso Burkina Faso

Xoomba

We buy our organic cotton fabrics from Xoomba in Burkina Faso. Xoomba is an association which was founded in 2009 to create a complete production chain for organic cotton textiles (GOTS certified) in Burkina Faso. In Burkina Faso, rainfall allows for the cultivation of excellent cotton without watering, whereas cotton cultivation usually consumes large amounts of drinking water. Burkina Faso also benefits from having all the means to process cotton: ginning and spinning.

Xoomba uses environmentally friendly fibre reactive dyes on cotton without heavy metals and works with artisan weavers on mechanical looms that do not require electricity. Xoomba employs about 25 people (mainly women) who receive a higher salary than the average income in Burkina Faso. Xoomba also trains young designers to produce finished made in Burkina Faso products so that the maximum added value benefits the country’s economy.

IMG_5495
boutique Esther 2
boutique Esther 2

Morocco Morocco Morocco Morocco Morocco

The workshop of Hicham and his father

The relationship between the Hicham workshop and Panafrica dates back to our beginning. When we first met in 2015, we immediately felt a pleasant atmosphere in this family workshop and a unique expertise guaranteeing high quality products. Hicham is very professional and helps us to develop our collections.

This workshop is certified by an external body and complies with the ILO (International Labour Organisation) rules. This guarantees a code of social responsibility and ensures that PANAFRICA sneakers are manufactured in an environment where workers’ rights are respected.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Each employee benefits from:

– An employment contract and a guaranteed minimum wage
– Paid holidays (3 weeks per year)
– Health insurance
– An increased salary for each additional hour worked (+20% and a maximum of 2 hours overtime per week)
-Regular training and quality management

We visit regularly to ensure that our productions are running smoothly and share the behind-the-scenes footage with you on Instagram.

Our workshop is regularly audited by independent external bodies.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Transparency

Transparency is at the heart of our project. We haven’t worked with an intermediary from the start, and we know the men and women behind every Panafrica product. This transparency is a daily requirement as we have a duty to tell you what we do, how and with whom.

Since 2016, we have been building a sustainable project and we have nothing to hide. At a time where ecology and ethics are on everyone’s lips, our duty is to give you the key to understand our project.

From cotton cultivation to our logistics warehouse, via our assembly workshops, PANAFRICA will not hold any secrets from you…

map

Cotton cultivation

Cotton cultivation

  • National Union of Cotton Producers in Burkina Faso (UNPCB)
  • Assembled in the form of cooperatives
  • Organic cotton cultivation without watering, Ecocert certified
  • Fairtrade label

Download the Ecocert (1) and FairTrade (2) labels

Cotton weaving and dyeing

Cotton weaving and dyeing

  • Xoomba
  • 20 employees in Bobo Dioulasso (mainly women)
  •  Mechanical looms that do not require electricity
  • Low impact dyeing and wastewater treatment

Download the GOTS label 

Sneaker assembly

Sneaker assembly

  • The workshop of Hicham and his father (122 employees, including 30 women)
  •   44 hours of work per week on average (national average: 49 hours/week)
  •  Excellent working conditions according to the last external audit report (minimum wage, number of hours worked, 100% of employees under contract)

Download the external WCA (Workplace Conditions Assessment) report

Wax production site

Wax production site

  • Uniwax based in Yopougon
  • West African leader in authentic wax printing
  • Construction of a health and social centre in 2012
  • Free healthcare for employees and their families

Cotton weaving

Cotton weaving

  • Weaving in Charlieu
  • Organic and recycled cotton fabric (95% certified organic fibres)
  • Purchase of plain and recycled cotton for our printed fabrics

Download the GRS (link 1), GOTS (link  2) and OekoTex (link 3) labels

Logistics warehouse

Logistics warehouse

  •  Consolidating the entire Panafrica stock
  •  B2B and B2C shipments

Batik dyeing workshop

Batik dyeing workshop

  •  The workshop of Esther and her daughter (4 employees)
  • Traditional wax printing (foam or wooden stamps)
  •  All steps are carried out manually

Leather tannery

Leather tannery

  • Mastrotto
  • Cattle hides for consumption
  • Semi-vegetable tanned leather
  • LWG Gold rated label indicating compliance with safety standards, reduction of substances hazardous to health and the environment, reduced water and energy consumption

Download the LWG label

Plastic fibre weaving

Plastic fibre weaving

  • Carlom
  • Fibre produced by Antex (Seaqual), OekoTex and GRS certified
  • Ocean recovered plastic

Download OekoTex (link 1) and GRS (link 2) labels

Manufacturing of soles

Manufacturing of soles

  • Company making our soles from recycled materials
  • 70% recycled materials from production waste and our old soles crushed and recycled (Rebirth programme)
  •  PETA certified (Vegan)

Download sole composition certification

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our next challenges

PANAFRICA is a global project, a work in progress. Like any project, it’s a long-term project.  Our ambition is to go ever further without being afraid to question our choices and our actions. There are still many challenges to be addressed, the main ones being:
Rebirth

Rebirth: a building block.

The circularity of the products we create is a complex subject and a huge challenge. Our dream is to create our new products from worn products that have reached the end of their life. We have created Rebirth to offer all our customers the option to return their used items and give them a second life (reconditioning where possible or recycling)

However, a pair of sneakers is made up of many materials with different properties (fabric, leather, lining, laces, eyelets etc.). Not all these elements can be crushed, recycled and repurposed in the same way. Restoring pairs of sneakers at the end of their life has therefore not yet been fully achieved and major investments are needed to aim for absolute circularity.

Voir la collection Rebirth
Cuir

Limit leather use

We use leather in manufacturing some PANAFRICA styles. Despite the undeniable qualities of leather (durability, comfort), we are aware of the environmental impact and the ethical problems it poses. Nowadays we use semi-vegetable tanned leather (low chrome) and reduce its use, season after season. For example, in 2016, 80% of our collections contained animal leather. In 2020, it’s 40%. At the same time, we are looking into the use of more ecological or natural substitutes for leather without compromising the life span of our products.

Camion

Reduce transport

Our collections are shipped by truck from the production workshops to our logistics warehouse near Chambéry in France. The ecological impact is therefore much lower than by air. However, our current logistics process is complex. For example, the wax fabric purchased in West Africa is routinely sent to France for quality control and industrial processing before being shipped back to Morocco for our styles to be assembled. Our factory does not currently have the capacity to process this stage directly on site.

Carton@2x

An end to packaging?

All our products are packed in recycled cardboard boxes, and, at the Panafrica workshop we sell our pairs of sneakers without boxes for customers who want that.

Until 2019, we limited packaging to the absolute minimum, but to protect our products throughout their logistical route we had to add a second packaging. This choice, for a customer experience which meets our standards, has a significant financial and ecological cost, but at the moment we have no other solution.

Tissu Wax
Tissu Wax

Côte d'ivoire Côte d'ivoire Côte d'ivoire Côte d'ivoire Côte d'ivoire

Uniwax

Depuis sa création en 1968, Uniwax est le leader ouest africain de l’impression du wax. Ses produits, vendus sous les marques Uniwax et Woodin, sont exportés dans plus d’une dizaine de pays d’Afrique de l’Ouest et d’Afrique Centrale. Uniwax fait appel à différents procédés pour réaliser sa gamme de produits. Les tissus sont enduits de cire puis teints avec un procédé spécifique garantissant une très grande tenue des couleurs. De la gravure des cylindres en cuivre aux bains de teinture, plus de 20 étapes sont nécessaires pour produire un motif !

Uniwax est le partenaire historique de Panafrica depuis 2015. Chaque saison, nous nous rendons à Abidjan pour sélectionner les plus beaux motifs pour nos collections. Nous avons la chance de travailler directement avec Uniwax, ce qui nous offre une grande flexibilité et la possibilité de personnaliser les motifs sélectionnés pour proposer des collections uniques.

Tissu Wax

Bon à savoir

Le marché du wax en Afrique est aujourd’hui totalement déréglé par l’importation des wax chinois, de moindre qualité et 2 à 3 fois moins chers qu’un tissu wax produit en Afrique (un wax chinois coûte en moyenne 6000 francs CFA. Un wax imprimé en Côte d’Ivoire est vendu 18 000 francs CFA). Que ce soit en République Démocratique du Congo, au Ghana ou en Côte d’Ivoire, de nombreuses usines ont mis la clé sous la porte, faute de pouvoir résister à cette concurrence.

Notre choix de travailler avec Uniwax nous permet de soutenir la production locale d’un tissu authentique de grande qualité.

Tissu wax
Tissu wax

Ghana Ghana Ghana Ghana Ghana

L'atelier d'Esther

Nous avons rencontré Esther et son équipe en 2019 et sommes tombés sous le charme de cette grande dame talentueuse et pleine d’énergie. C’est dans son petit atelier au nord d’Accra (capitale du Ghana) qu’Esther, sa fille et leurs 4 employés créent des motifs originaux et perpétuent un savoir-faire bien connu au Ghana : l’impression artisanale du Batik. Chaque saison nous développons à leurs côtés de nouveaux motifs pour nos collections.

Atelier Batik
Atelier Batik

Burkina Faso Burkina Faso Burkina Faso Burkina Faso Burkina Faso

Xoomba

Nous achetons nos toiles de coton biologique auprès de Xoomba au Burkina Faso. Xoomba est une association fondée en 2009 pour établir une chaîne complète de production de textile en coton biologique (certifié GOTS) au Burkina Faso. Au Burkina, la pluviométrie permet la culture d’un excellent coton sans arrosage, alors que la culture du coton consomme habituellement de grandes quantités d’eau potable. Le Burkina Faso a aussi l’avantage de disposer de tous les moyens de transformation du coton : égrenage et filage.

Xoomba réalise la teinture écologique du coton à fibres réactives sans métaux lourds et travaille avec des artisans tisserands sur des métiers mécaniques ne nécessitant pas d’électricité. Xoomba emploie environ 25 personnes (principalement des femmes) qui perçoivent un salaire supérieur au salaire moyen au Burkina. Xoomba forme également de jeunes couturiers pour produire des produits finis made in Burkina afin que le maximum de plus-value profite à l’économie du pays.

Xomba, Burkina Faso
Batik
Batik

Maroc Maroc Maroc Maroc Maroc

L’Atelier d’Hicham et de son père

La relation entre l’atelier d’Hicham et Panafrica date de nos débuts. Lors de notre première rencontre en 2015, nous avons immédiatement senti une ambiance agréable dans cet atelier familial et un savoir-faire unique garantissant des produits de grande qualité. Très professionnel, Hicham nous accompagne pour développer nos collections.

Cet atelier est certifié par un organisme externe et respecte les règles de l’OIT (Organisation Internationale du Travail). Cela garantit un code de responsabilité sociale et assure que les baskets PANAFRICA sont fabriquées dans un environnement où les droits des travailleurs sont respectés.

Arusha

Chaque employé bénéficie :

– D’un contrat de travail et d’un salaire minimum garanti
– De congés payés (3 semaines par an)
– D’une couverture santé
– D’une rémunération revalorisée pour chaque heure supplémentaire effectuée (+20% et 2h supplémentaires maximum par semaine)
– De formations régulières et d’un management de qualité

Nous nous rendons régulièrement sur place pour veiller au bon déroulement de nos productions et partageons avec vous les coulisses sur Instagram.

Notre atelier est régulièrement audité par des organismes externes indépendants. (lien transparence).

Usine Maroc
Usine Maroc

Transparence

La transparence est au cœur de notre projet. Nous travaillons sans intermédiaire depuis nos débuts et connaissons les femmes et les hommes qui œuvrent derrière chaque produit Panafrica. Cette transparence est une exigence au quotidien car nous avons le devoir de vous dire ce que nous faisons, comment et avec qui.

Depuis 2016, nous construisons un projet pérenne et nous n’avons rien à cacher. A l’heure où l’écologie et l’éthique sont sur toutes les lèvres, notre devoir est de vous donner toutes les clefs de compréhension de notre projet.

De la culture du coton à notre entrepôt logistique, en passant par nos ateliers d’assemblage, PANAFRICA n’aura plus de secret pour vous…

map

Culture du coton

Culture du coton

  • Certificat Eco-cert UNPCBUnion nationale des producteurs de coton du Burkina Faso (UNPCB)
  • Rassemblée sous forme de coopératives
  • Culture du coton biologique sans arrosage labellisée Ecocert
  • Label Fairtrade

Télécharger le label Ecocert (1) et FairTrade (2)

Tissage et teinture du coton

Tissage et teinture du coton

  • Xoomba
  • 25 employés à Bobo Dioulasso (dont une majorité de femmes)
  • Métiers à tisser mécaniques ne nécessitant pas d’électricité
  • Teinture à faible impact et traitement des eaux usées

Télécharger label GOTS

Assemblage des baskets

Assemblage des baskets

  • Atelier d’Hicham et de son père (122 employés dont 30 femmes)
  • 44 heures de travail hebdomadaire en moyenne (moyenne nationale : 49 heures/ semaine)
  • Conditions de travail excellentes selon le dernier rapport d’audit externe (salaire minimum, nombre d’heures travaillées, 100% des employés sous contrat)

Télécharger le rapport externe WCA (Workplace conditions Assessment)

Lieu de production du wax

Lieu de production du wax

  • Uniwax basé à Yopougon
  • Leader ouest africain de l’impression du véritable wax
  • Construction d’un centre medico social en 2012
  • Soins gratuits pour les salariés et leurs familles

Tissage du coton

Tissage du coton

  • Tissage de Charlieu
  • Tissu en coton biologique (95 % de fibres bilogiques certifiées) et recyclé
  • Achat du coton uni et recyclé pour nos toiles imprimées

Télécharger les labels GRS (1), GOTS (2) et OekoTex (3)

Entrepôt logistique

Entrepôt logistique

  • Centralisation de l’intégralité du stock Panafrica
  • Expéditions B to B et B to C

Atelier de teinture du Batik

Atelier de teinture du Batik

  • Atelier d’Esther et de sa fille (4 employés)
  • Impression traditionnelle à la cire (tampons en mousse ou en bois)
  • Toutes les étapes sont réalisées manuellement

Tannerie cuir

Tannerie cuir

  • Entreprise Mastrotto
  • Peaux bovines destinées à la consommation
  • Cuir à tannage semi végétal
  • Label LWG Gold rated indiquant le respect des normes de sécurité, la réduction des substances nocives pour la santé et l’environnement, baisse de la consommation eau et énergie

Télécharger le label LWG

Tissage des fibres de plastique

Tissage des fibres de plastique

  • Entreprise Carlom
  • Fibre produite par Antex (Seaqual) certifiée OekoTex et GRS
  • Plastique récolté dans les océans

Télécharger les labels OekoTex (1) et GRS (2)

Fabrication des semelles

Fabrication des semelles

  • Entreprise réalisant nos semelles à base de matières recyclées
  • 70% de matières recyclées issues des chutes de production et de nos anciennes semelles broyées et recyclées (programme Rebirth)
  • Certifié Peta (Vegan)

Télécharger certification composition semelle

Tissu wax
Tissu wax

Nos prochains défis

PANAFRICA est un projet global, un projet en devenir. Comme tout projet, il s’inscrit dans le temps. Notre ambition est d’aller toujours plus loin sans avoir peur de questionner nos choix et nos actions. De nombreux défis restent à relever, en voici les principaux :
Rebirth

Rebirth : une pierre à l'édifice

La circularité des produits que nous créons est un sujet complexe et un challenge de taille.

Notre rêve : créer nos nouveaux produits à partir des produits déjà portés arrivés en fin de vie.

Nous avons créé Rebirth pour offrir à tous nos clients la possibilité de renvoyer leurs articles usés et leur donner une seconde vie (reconditionnement lorsque cela est possible ou recyclage – en savoir plus).

Néanmoins, une paire de baskets est composée de nombreux matériaux aux propriétés différentes (toiles, cuirs, doublures, lacets, oeillets etc). Tous ces éléments ne peuvent être broyés, recyclés et transformés uniformément. La revalorisation des paires en fin de vie n’est donc, à ce jour, pas totalement aboutie et des investissements importants sont nécessaires pour viser une circularité absolue.

Voir le projet Rebirth
Cuir

Limiter l'utilisation du cuir

Nous utilisons du cuir pour la fabrication de certains modèles PANAFRICA. Malgré les qualités indéniables du cuir (durabilité, confort), nous sommes conscients de l’impact environnemental et des problèmes éthiques que cela pose. Nous utilisons aujourd’hui un cuir au tannage semi végétal (low chrome) et réduisons, saison après saison son utilisation. À titre d’exemple, en 2016, 80 % de nos collections comportaient du cuir animal. En 2020, c’est 40%. Nous menons en parallèle des réflexions pour utiliser des substituts plus écologiques ou naturels au cuir sans pour autant dégrader la durée de vie de nos produits.

Camion

Réduire le transport

Nos collections sont expédiées par camion des ateliers de production vers notre entrepôt logistique près de Chambéry en France. L’impact écologique est donc beaucoup plus faible que par voie aérienne. Néanmoins notre schéma logistique actuel est complexe. Par exemple, le tissu wax acheté en Afrique de l’Ouest est systématiquement envoyé en France pour un contrôle qualité et un traitement industriel avant d’être réexpédié au Maroc pour l’assemblage de nos modèles. Notre usine n’a, à ce jour, pas la capacité de traiter cette étape directement sur place.

Carton@2x

En finir avec les emballages ?

Tous nos produits sont emballés dans des boîtes en carton recyclé et à l’Atelier Panafrica nous vendons nos paires hors boîtes pour les clients qui le désirent.

Jusqu’en 2019, nous limitions l’emballage au strict minimum mais pour protéger nos produits tout au long de leur circuit logistique nous avons dû ajouter un second emballage. Ce choix, pour une expérience client à la hauteur de nos exigences, a un coût financier et écologique non négligeable mais nous n’avons à ce jour pas d’autre solution.